BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

C6 Governor Elimination

4 posters

Go down

C6 Governor Elimination Empty C6 Governor Elimination

Post  sandvipr January 24th 2023, 12:37 pm

Hi guys,  I've been running a C6 behind a 4-digit BBF for several years and so far, zero issues with it.  After the last dyno session we figured out that the parasitic loss was pretty crazy and I'm looking to reduce some rotating mass and rollorize things this time around.  Previously I followed Frank's "recipe" and it has been awesome with just fluid changes a couple times a season.  It currently has more clutches per gear, Broader reverse manual VB, hardened input shaft, correct servo, etc.  I'm not ready to switch platforms just yet....  I have a goal I want to hit with this combo.

I just ordered up everything to install Torrington bearings and related parts and I'm also looking into billet drums (much lighter) skeletonized sun gear, etc.  Just more purchased parts to be installed.

My main question has to do with the governor- I see bits and pieces of threads where people have discussed removing it, the tubes, and some mods to the park pawl and capturing components.   Does anyone have nice step by step instructions with photos on what actually needs to be done? My main concern is what happens to the fluid?  Does it get blocked anywhere or does it just hemorrhage internally?  If it does, will that affect the line pressures for the rest of the operation and are there oiling issues at the tail without it?

The car sees mostly track use with the occasional cruise to a show here and there. It probably sees less than 1,000 street miles per year.   Is that enough to keep those components in it or can I eliminate all of that stuff? It's a pro street mustang and it weighs approximately 3100 lbs and I run a 5300 stall.  Not sure if that has any bearing on the direction of this.  What say the pros?
sandvipr
sandvipr