BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Oil weight?

+2
richter69
FORDMUD
6 posters

Go down

Oil weight? Empty Oil weight?

Post  FORDMUD January 25th 2012, 5:14 pm

Rods at .0022-.0026
Mains at .0032-.0036
Canton 7qt pan
High volume pump
528 in a mud truck. 5500-6200 rpm

I was considering the Supreme 7000 20w50 racing oil

Opinions???
FORDMUD
FORDMUD

Back to top Go down

Oil weight? Empty Re: Oil weight?

Post  richter69 January 25th 2012, 5:23 pm

looks like it would work to me.
richter69
richter69

Back to top Go down

Post  kjett January 25th 2012, 10:49 pm

I'm no pro by any means, but I can say from experience on my specific motor with similar clearences that I switched from 20w50 to 10w30 and I picked up a few hp on the dyno. Been running the truck like that spinning the 466 to 7200 rpm every pass and quite a few hits with the nitrous for the last 2 years and the bearings still look new. As long as your motor is set up right, it'll be good. I change the oil every other race (3-4 200' passes per race) and looks good and barely used. I keep with that routine just to be safe though.
kjett
kjett

Back to top Go down

Post  bbf-falcon January 26th 2012, 8:18 am

kjett wrote:I'm no pro by any means, but I can say from experience on my specific motor with similar clearences that I switched from 20w50 to 10w30 and I picked up a few hp on the dyno. Been running the truck like that spinning the 466 to 7200 rpm every pass and quite a few hits with the nitrous for the last 2 years and the bearings still look new. As long as your motor is set up right, it'll be good. I change the oil every other race (3-4 200' passes per race) and looks good and barely used. I keep with that routine just to be safe though.
\