BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

My Merc Has Ford!

2 posters

Go down

My Merc Has Ford! Empty My Merc Has Ford!

Post  JBtothez September 9th 2022, 1:20 pm

Hi all, (Warning this will be long for an intro, but thorough My Merc Has Ford! 1f62c )

Like most of the posts in this part of the forum, I am new to the 385 platform.  I've built 302 strokers for my Foxbody back in the '00's but never played with the big block family.  Everything was bolt-on ready for the Fox platform and I didn't realize how good I had it as a true newb to engine building at the time.  God bless the OLD Corral.  Got into the Tweecer and EEC Analyzer pretty hard and it was great for the time being.  Now I'm staring at a big block and a carb and scratching my head.  I've been reading here for a few months and the knowledge base is huge, despite the low quantity of posts.

So onto the car.  I've always wanted a chopped, slammed Merc.  The coupes are all but out of reach for a working man.  They want $10k for a rusted bare chassis.  I found a decent four door.  The suicide rear doors are cool to me and the car looked decent enough to cruise and work on.  I wanted to get something while my son is young, so we can work on it together and get him out in the garage.  It was out of tune and running poorly.  Lots of halfass work electrically.  They were running manifold vacuum on a Duraspark II curved for ported vacuum.  Once I figured out the basics of the Duraspark II, I was able to sort that out, add base timing and get the car running much better.  I've heard manifold vacuum is where I ultimately want to end up, but this is a stopgap until I get a properly curved distributor.  I got tired of the wiring and redid all of that.  All soldered connections, routed and organized.