BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Differences between Superior and Sonnax R servos

4 posters

Go down

Differences between Superior and Sonnax R servos Empty Differences between Superior and Sonnax R servos

Post  manofmerc December 3rd 2021, 6:26 am

My current c-6 has one of Franks Trans brake valve bodies .It has been a great performer .I just haven't been happy with my 1-2 shift .I have been using a cut down sonnax for several years .It was cut I believe .014 on the big end o ring groove it goes in the case and works fine I believe part of my problem is the end that goes into the cover it is tight .I measured the piston and bore and come up with .001 clearance .This is just a caliper measurement no inside mics or anything special just my caliper .On the Superior servo it is much different the small end (goes in the cover)has .004-.005 clearance And uses a different style o ring .It has a slant cut o ring like a napier second ring for an engine .It goes in the cover easily unlike the sonnax which is tight .The stem on the superior doesn't have those o rings like the sonnax and I measured the big ends on both servos and come up with .002 clearance piston to bore both servos went in my case easily and moved what appeared to be the same .Superior sends a spring with their servo it is shorter than my original ford spring probably 3/8" that is the only thing I am skeptical about .The way I see it though Superior made this servo so they must know something .Superior is the old Fairbanks company some literature says superior some Fairbanks .I also went with a summit brand deep transmission pan .It is aluminum and lo and behold made in America! Everything about it is good quality .Probably in a couple weeks I will find somewhere to test my transmission and will report back my findings .Doug afro

manofmerc
BBF CONTRIBUTOR
BBF CONTRIBUTOR

Gregaust and Mark Miller like this post