BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

D0OE-R head question.

3 posters

Go down

D0OE-R head question. Empty D0OE-R head question.

Post  rharden December 11th 2019, 1:41 am

I'm rebuilding my 71, 429 CJ engine. I have worked on many small block Fords and 351C, but I'm a bit new to the 429 CJ engine. The heads have me puzzled. I sent them out for valve work and machining. The heads look great! I installed them on the block and when I was checking the fit of the intake gaskets, Fel-Pro 1231S-3 intake gasket set, I noticed a small opening, just above the exhaust crossover port, in the center of each head. The intake gasket doesn't cover this opening. What is this? I can't find anything about this in my engine manuals. I'm installing a new Edelbrock Pro Flo intake and it doesn't cover this either and neither did the stock CJ intake. A Facebook group, BBF, says this is a barrier between the exhaust port and oil side of the head, so the engine oil doesn't burn inside the valve cover area. Is that a fact, or is this for something else? Thanks.

D0OE-R head question. P1040910
D0OE-R head question. P1040911

rharden

Back to top Go down

D0OE-R head question. Empty Re: D0OE-R head question.

Post  rmcomprandy December 11th 2019, 11:16 am

Exactly what it is ... It is merely an air barrier so the exhaust crossover does not transfer as much heat to the oil directly above it under the valve cover.
That gasket is actually higher in that place than an O.E.M. gasket; covering part of that void.

rmcomprandy

http://www.rmcompetition.com

Back to top Go down

Post  rharden December 11th 2019, 12:11 pm

rmcomprandy wrote:Exactly what it is ... It is merely an air barrier so the exhaust crossover does not transfer as much heat to the oil directly above it under the valve cover.
That gasket is actually higher in that place than an O.E.M. gasket; covering part of that void.