BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

'71 429cj mustang convertible restoration

+7
FalconEh
supervel45
rmcomprandy
dfree383
TommyK
cletus66
Pastel Blue
11 posters

Go down

'71 429cj mustang convertible restoration Empty '71 429cj mustang convertible restoration

Post  Pastel Blue March 15th 2016, 9:00 pm

Hi,

I have a completely original engine as noted above. It is #'s matching to the car which is undergoing a complete rotisserie restoration. The body/paint are almost complete. I have the original engine sitting on a stand in my garage... it is next up for updating. I am by no means an expert mechanic, just like to work on old cars, and in this case have no concerns with tearing the engine down and looking into what needs to be done.

I could use some guidance on where I should go with this engine in terms of the rebuild. I don't know the history of previous work on the engine at this time. It appears to have possibly been rebuilt once, or at the very least, the heads were definitely done.

Budget is an issue, but I am not going to skimp on the heart of the car...

I did a compression test just before removing the engine in the Fall and all cylinders about 135 and one at 125-130. No leak down test as of yet.

What should I be keying in on for definite replacement purposes, what could be left if it appeared ok, or damn it man, just rebuild it... If this is the case, with it being 11.3:1 compression and todays gas, what should I be looking to do to make it run on available gas today, what cam, etc. The car has a C-6 auto (I think around a 2000 factory stall), 3.25 trac lok gears running the factory 14" F-70 wheels and tires. The car when finished will be shown and driven on nice days, will not be tracked... just a nice weekend warrior restored to its former glory.

I am open to all concrete ideas that will improve the engine's day to day operation, reliability, power gain etc.